

Andy Beshear GOVERNOR

Jacqueline Coleman
LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR

PUBLIC PROTECTION CABINET

Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction

500 Mero Street, First Floor Frankfort, KY 40601 Phone: (502) 573-0365 Ray A. Perry SECRETARY

Max Fuller COMMISSIONER

David Moore
DEPUTY COMMISSIONER

The Department of Housing, Building and Construction started the review process of adopting new versions of the Kentucky Building Code ("KBC") and Kentucky Residential Code ("KRC"). Two task forces have been established, the KBC task force and the KRC task force. The task forces are currently reviewing the 2018, 2021 and 2024 editions of the International Building Code and International Residential Code to identify significant changes between those codes and the current adopted editions of the KBC and KRC and make recommendations to the Department regarding code amendments and adoption of new editions of the KBC and KRC codes.

The task forces are comprised of the following associations and member representatives:

Gary Feck - Division of Building Code Enforcement, KBC Chairperson

Mandy Hayden - Division of Building Code Enforcement, KRC Chairperson

Tim O Hearn – Kentucky State Building and Construction Trades Council

Mike Masterson - Kentucky State Building and Construction Trades Council

Brian Tharpe - Kentucky Master Association of Contractors

Mike Wagner - Kentucky Master Association of Contractors

Kelly Gardner - Structural Engineers Association of Kentucky

Mark Caldwell - Structural Engineers Association of Kentucky

Eric Zabilka - American Institute of Architects

Vincent Thompson- American Institute of Architects

Tyson Hermes – Home Builders Association of Kentucky

Dan O'Connell - Home Builders Association of Kentucky

Eric Jackson – Home Builders Association of Kentucky

Amy Eveler – Code Administrators Association of Kentucky

Alvaro Polanco - Code Administrators Association of Kentucky

Adam Jones – Associated General Contractors

Mike Rudmann – Associated General Contractors

Steve Milby – Mechanical Contractors Association of Kentucky

Leonard Heuser - Mechanical Contractors Association of Kentucky

The task force meetings are open to the public and the next meeting will be held June 12, 2025 at 10:00 am EST at the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet Conference Center in Room C-117, 200 Mero Street, Frankfort, KY 40601 (please monitor Department website for updates).

June 12, 2025 the agenda will include – continued discussion of the International Energy Conservation Code to determine collectively which edition the task forces will recommend for adoption.

Questions or comments shall be directed to the task force leadership via email to Gary.Feck@ky.gov or Mandy.Hayden@ky.gov.

